New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

FeniX
Starting Member

30 Posts

Posted - 08/07/2013 :  7:35:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi guys,

Just a quick survey - do you doodle - when and how often?

Most cartoonist start off with rough sketch doodles and from that perfect their cartoonist skills.

Are computers killing off the art of doodling - ? There are no rough drafts - just the finished item - its not an organic process but does this matter to you if you have tight deadlines and budgets?

Does doodling make for a better cartoonist?

MattInTheHat

USA
206 Posts

Posted - 08/07/2013 :  9:18:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello Fenix.

I doodle. I doodle mostly when I am on the telephone for a long time or any other time when I am bored. I worked as a telemarketer for a short time and I doodled my brains out.

I think my doodling is only out of boredom and a way to prevent further insanity. Rarely are they anything other than random shapes and lines and there is never any intention to create anything particular. Just spreading lead (graphite?) on paper.

If ones reasons of doodling are similar to mine than my guess would be that smart phones are killing off the "art of doodling". Where one might doodle to relieve boredom, nowadays people just turn on their smartphone and get lost in a social network or an app. Not me. I do not have a smart phone. I do believe they may be killing off the "art of social interaction".

Although if I sit down with the intent to create something but I can't think of something to draw or how to approach it, I will usually just quickly "doodle" some nonsensical shape, look at it, and then add detail to turn it in to something unique.

Survey complete. Does this count as community service?

-Matt

Go to Top of Page

RAMWOC87

USA
65 Posts

Posted - 08/08/2013 :  3:47:54 PM  Show Profile  Visit RAMWOC87's Homepage  Reply with Quote